Host-Microbe Core  >  Enteric Microbiology Component

This component supports the following research methods:  

Cultivation and high-throughput non-cultivation based approaches including:

  • Anaerobic and customized conditions including pure microbial cultures or cultures in conditioned media.
  • HTP nucleic acid preparation, analysis of microbial community structure (16S rRNA-based), and functional potential (metagenomics and metatranscriptomics).
  • Targeted functional gene analysis including qPCR.

Functional assay services including those targeting substrate utilization (BIOLOG)

To request service or access protocols related to HMC core services click here.

Dionysios Antonopoulos, Ph.D.

Enteric Microbiology Component Director
Phone: 773-702-6458; (630) 252-3925 (Argonne National Lab)

Dr. Dionysios Antonopoulos is a microbiologist interested in studying the formation and development of microbial communities. His interest in understanding mammalian gastrointestinal function has been complemented by ongoing research in environmental systems (subsurface and topsoil systems).  Although the scales are vastly different between the two, many of the approaches used in both GI and field research are steeped in classical ecological theory and serve to circumnavigate the complex nature of the microbial communities underlying system function. His group is actively involved in applying second-generation DNA sequencing technologies to describing both the structure and function of microbial communities in these systems and has taken advantage of the computational resources available at Argonne National Laboratory (ANL, to handle the scale of data afforded by these technologies. His joint appointment between the University of Chicago (Dept of Medicine) and ANL, via the Institute for Genomics and Systems Biology, enables interactions between the clinical and next generation laboratory approaches (including shotgun metagenomics) to understanding the microbial world.

A. Murat Eren, Ph.D.

Enteric Microbiology Component Co-Director